The J. Irwin and Xenia S. Miller Prize is the centerpiece of Exhibit Columbus and honors the legacy of two great patrons of our community. The 2020–21 J. Irwin and Xenia S. Miller Prize recipients represent practices that celebrate design and have a deep interest in research and making. They have been selected for their commitment to the transformative power that architecture, art, and design have to improve people’s lives and make cities better places to live. This year’s J. Irwin and Xenia Miller Prize winners are:

Dream the Combine

Ecosistema Urbano
Miami and Madrid, Spain

Future Firm

Olalekan Jeyifous

Sam Jacob Studio
London, England

“These five Miller Prize winners represent the future of architecture and design,” says Anne Surak, Director of Exhibit Columbus. “They bring to Columbus a deep understanding of the ways architecture and design, at a variety of scales, shape our cities and inform the ways we relate to each other. Miller Prize recipients will have the opportunity to bring their unique perspectives to Columbus, while exploring the customs and values that have created this city’s international design legacy. The lenses through which participants view this thematic cycle, interact with our city’s design legacy, and create work in dialogue with our community will strengthen Exhibit Columbus’s ability to promote a critical design dialogue while creating meaningful impact through our locally responsive and globally engaged program.”