Seven University Design Research Fellowships have been awarded to leading professors of architecture, landscape architecture, and design from American universities who will create installations highlighting their research. University Design Research Fellows were selected for their ability to tackle specific sets of issues germane to the future of the city and the Mississippi Watershed region, such as sustainability and material reuse, non-human habitat, watershed ecologies, emergent technologies, and migration. The University Design Research Fellows for 2020–2021 are:

Derek Hoeferlin
Tracing Our Mississippi
Washington University in St. Louis

Joyce Hwang
To Middle Species, With Love
University at Buffalo

Jei Jeeyea Kim
LaWaSo Ground
Indiana University

Ersela Kripa and Stephen Mueller
Texas Tech University at El Paso

Ang Li
Window Dressing
Northeastern University

Lola Sheppard and Mason White
This Appearance Is _____
University of Waterloo & University of Toronto

Natalie Yates
Ball State University